The two classes that are presenting the most obstacles are polar opposite. The first class is my MWF class that I have at 4pm. They are quite the handful but they are great. It is hard to get them to be quiet which is great when I'm asking questions or asking for volunteers to read-- they especially are good at having class discussions about the reading. But when it's time for the quizzes or tests they still don't quiet down and they talk to each other during the test. So far, no one is cheating as I can tell from their quiz grades but it still isn't good.
My other class that is a challenge is my TR class at 7pm. This class...does not talk. Period. One girl in the class does all the question-answering and volunteers for reading. I feel bad because I have to ignore her hand sometimes and call on people. In particular, there are three boys in the back of the class who just don't talk in English at all, even when I stand in front of their desks and ask questions directly to them. Finally on Thursday, I got so frustrated because they were talking to each other in Korean and ignoring me that I assigned everyone in class a question to answer and made it a requirement that they answer. Two of the boys answered their questions right away with as minimal an answer as possible, but the other boy tried to get out of it by saying, "I don't know." I pointed him to a paragraph in the book where he could find the answer and he finally answered when he realized I wasn't going to let him off the hook. These boys also haven't done any of their homework so far, including the online essays that are worth 25 points.
There are definitely some fun things about class though. In the previously mentioned rowdy class, the girls give me notes and pictures that they drew at the end of class that say things like, "We love you teacher!" and "You are very kind!" and things like that. They also tend to draw things for me on the back of their tests, which is really funny. The boys in that class are a bit smart alecky at times, but it's more of something I can joke around with them about rather than a nuisance.
Starting my second week of teaching today. Here goes nothing!
Sunday, September 7, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
3 comments:
I'm so proud of you - you're standing up to your students and putting your foot down - and I know it's hard for you to be really firm!! Good for you! Teaching can't possibly be an easy job...I know I couldn't handle it...I'm sure you're doing great. I miss you girl, and love you!!
Good for you for putting your foot down with those boys. You know if you don't show them you're the boss they'll never stop pushing you around but once you do they'll start to listen to you (at least that's what they tell me :). Kids are tough, but be glad you don't have 50 year old men who refuse to try, they're tough too! I'd love to hear about any other strategies you figure out for getting your kids going. I have kids for 2 hours a day now and I have some 6-year olds that are kinda troublesome.
~Kim
the kids in my classes don't raise their hands - which is frustrating when i think about it, but i just have to get over my "good girl" brainwaves and we shall be getting along splendidly. except for my last class, which is "Reading Builder III" which i have no idea what they are supposed to do, so i have to find something for them to do. . . besides sit around and swear for the whole hour. I'm not sure if I should talk to them about that or not, because it's only two boys, but a lot of these kids don't have dads at home... :(
and grades were due today and I finally (think) I found at least mostly everything that the subs/former "teacher" did with them... i hope.
i am going to go thrift storing tomorrow to get some furniture (i just have an air mattress, my books/dvds and clothes from this summer... ) and try to find some stuff for the classroom to make it look pretty for PT conferences this week (yikes!! It's only my second week!!) i love you and have a great weekend!(week?) ~ama.nd.a
Post a Comment