Monday, September 15, 2008

Settling in

I feel like I'm getting used to living in Korea. There are some things that are very different about living here, but I'm starting to forget about the culture shock of it all. However...here are some of the big differences here that I am not too fond of yet.

First of all, Korean drivers! My students told me one day that they heard that America has very strict driving rules, which I never would have thought about before coming here. It seems to me that the "rules" of driving in Korea are really just guidelines. Stoplights, for example. Apparently it is perfectly acceptable to run red lights here. Today I went to this giant grocery store (Home Plus) with Alison and Patrick and we had to take a cab. Our driver was insane. Not only did he speed like a mad man, he went straight through every red light without even slowing down, he weaved in and out of traffic (including pulling into the other lane to pass cars), and he honked his horn at other cars who were driving normally. Patrick was sitting in the front seat clutching the "oh crap!" bar above the window and Alison and I were in the back trying hard not to laugh hysterically. I have never feared for my life more. Fortunately we got to Home Plus safely. Don't worry, Daddy-- most cab drivers aren't THAT bad and I'm generally safe in them. ;-)

I also am not a fan of the bathrooms here. I found that I have a place to put the hose in my sink so it can kind of act as a shower head, but I still have to bend down to get my hair wet. You know something is low to the ground when I of all people have to crouch to get under it. I'm getting used to it but I will not miss Korean bathrooms I don't think.:)

Actually, I think those are my two biggest grievances at this point. :) I went to an English-speaking church this weekend where all the "foreigners" were extremely kind and invited me to sit with them and eat lunch with them after the service. This weekend was Chuseok, the Korean version of Thanksgiving, so I had a nice long weekend. It's back to work tomorrow, but thanks to all this extra time I got caught up on all my essay grading. Yay!

5 comments:

Katie Borton said...

Wow...those are some low showers!!

Tell me more about your church.

I miss you!!

I check your blog way too much lol!!

Have a wonderful day!!

Life at the HA said...

:) Thinking of you!

Lesley Kerr said...

so i find myself calling my cat "mallard" at times...dang you!!! my cat is not a duck!

Stephanie said...

If those are your only grievances, you're not doing too badly! Those two things are true in China too! Sorry I forgot to warn you! You'll get used to the driving...I think, and as for the shower...in China we have little hook things that the nozzle head goes into to make the hose into a shower...you don't have one of those? I would do what you are doing...and find a way to rig one up!! It sounds like you are doing great! I hope you are making friends! I love you!!

Anonymous said...

Why do you need to take showers?